Kanban Certifications

Kanban Certifications

Kanban is an operational methodology that tries to streamline business processes and reduce waste. As the use of Kanban increases, being educated in Kanban becomes more valuable and more critical to organizations. Successful adoption of Kanban practices relies on knowledgeable employees supporting its implementation. You can learn more about Kanban here: What is Kanban? and you can test your Kanban Knowledge here: Kanban Knowledge Test.

There are two relatively well known and reputable certifying bodies for Kanban. They are the International Business and Quality Management Institute (IBQMI) and LeanKanban. LeanKanban credentials are more expensive to obtain than credentials from IBQMI, with IBQMI requiring self-study. The same information tends to be covered for both sets of certifications.

In addition to IBQMI and LeanKanban, offers a certification on working with Kanban in Scrum.


International Business and Quality Management Institute (IBQMI)

IBQMI offers education in Kanban and two different Kanban certifications. It has an additional certification in Scrumban, a Kanban and Scrum hybrid.  Purchase of an IBQMI exam voucher also provides access to some training material for the certifications.

All tests for IBQMI certifications are administered online through the IBQMI website and do not require a proctor.

IBQMI Approved Kanban Professional: The Approved Kanban Professional certification is the entry-level certification for those new to Kanban. IBQMI describes an Approved Kanban Professional as someone who would work under the direction of a Certified Kanban Coach. The cost of an exam voucher is $95 (USA).

You can get the official book for this certification here: IBQMI® Approved Kanban Professional: The official training material.

IBQMI Certified Kanban Coach: The Certified Kanban Coach is the higher-level certification from IBQMI. It covers more than just Kanban use within the IT Realm, expanding to the history of Kanban and its origins in automotive manufacturing as Just In Time Manufacturing. It is important to know the difference between kanban signal cards in manufacturing and Kanban in service delivery/IT organizations. The cost of an exam voucher is $150 (USA).

You can get the official book for this certification here: IBQMI Certified Kanban Coach: The official training material

IBQMI Certified Scrumban Practitioner: The Certified Scrumban Practitioner exam covers both Scrum and Kanban, as well as how to work with both together. It is aimed at those with no experience in Scrumban and will provide educational materials upon the purchase of an exam voucher. The cost of an exam voucher is $160 (USA).

You can get the official book for this certification here: IBQMI Certified Scrumban Practitioner®: The official training material


Additional Books on Kanban


LeanKanban has four levels of certification training in Kanban. Each level consists of varying requirements in regards to the educational courses that are required and the duration of those courses. Upon successful completion of the educational requirements, you will be awarded certification for that level.

Team Kanban Practitioner (TKP): The TKP is an entry-level certification that requires a one day course (8 hours). The online option is spread over two days with four hours each day. You can access an online TKP course here: Team Kanban Practitioner Course Training.

Kanban Management Professional (KMP): The KMP is a more advanced course intended for management professionals, such as Project Managers. It requires more specialized training than the TKP certification. To earn the KMP, aspiring credential holders must take two different 2-day courses. These courses can only be taken in person.

Kanban Coaching Professional (KCP): The KCP is intended for those with experience in Kanban and applicants must hold the KMP certification to apply. It requires at least 6 months in a verified Kanban initiative and a 5 day Kanban coaching course. Applicants must then be interviewed by a LeanKanban panel for credential approval.

Accredited Kanban Trainer (AKT): The AKT is an advanced level credential intended for those who wish to teach the above courses. LeanKanban requires a “Train the Trainer” course and a formal application process for each AKT credential holder. is primarily involved in Scrum certifications and Scrum education. The founders of and the Scrum Alliance are responsible for maintaining the Scrum Guide. offers one certification in Kanban that involves using Kanban within the Scrum framework.

Professional Scrum with Kanban (PSK): The PSK certification has no pre-requisites except for knowledge of how to use Kanban in Scrum. Applicants can choose to take PSK training but are only required to sit for a 45 question exam. The cost of a PSK certification voucher is $200.

You can access a guide to using Kanban with Scrum here: Kanban Guide for Scrum Teams.


1 reply »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.